The Seven Sacraments


The sacraments are efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us. The visible rites by which the sacraments are celebrated signify and make present the graces proper to each sacrament. They bear fruit in those who receive them with the required dispositions.


That's what our Catechism teaches us. “Okay, great,”  you might be thinking, “but what does all that actually mean?” Well, let's take a look...




So what it means is that the sacraments, these specific events in our journey of faith, are special moments in which Jesus has the chance to enter our lives in special and powerful ways. Our Church has seven sacraments, and each provides a unique opportunity to experience God and his love for us. Our seven sacraments can be broken up into three basic groups:


Sacraments of Christian Initiation



Cleansed by water, the baptized are purified, washed clean of Original Sin, and welcomed into the Church as they receive the Holy Spirit.



Anointed by the bishop, the confirmed are empowered to live as disciples of Christ in the world, receiving the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit.


Eucharist  (or First Communion)

Accepting the Body and Blood of Christ, those who fully participate in the Eucharist by receiving communion are spiritually strengthened and united to Christ and his mystical Body.


Sacraments at the Service of Communion


Holy Orders

Offering themselves in the service of God, the ordained are provided the strength and blessing needed to serve his Church.


Matrimony  (or Marriage)

Uniting themselves to another, the married are called to serve their spouse, their family, and the world, demonstrating to all the love of Christ and his Church.


Sacraments of Healing


Reconciliation  (or Confession)

Humbly admitting their weakness and faults, those who confess their sins are lovingly forgiven by a merciful God who seeks to repair his connection with them.


Anointing of the Sick

Looking for strength and support, those who are anointed are granted the comfort and love of God in their times of need.


For more information on each of the seven sacraments and how to get involved with them here at St. John Bosco Parish, please click the corresponding image or link above.